View Full Version : dialing in cams=harder to start?

phillysrt4
01-07-2019, 10:04 AM
Mods, move this where you think apropos.

As most of you know, I dialed my cams in 2 adv intake, 3 ret exhaust. Since then, it has been really sluggish in starting in the morning (it mid-upper 20'sF or about -1 to -3C). It wasn't this way on my stage 2 before putting the cams in.

I take it that the slow starting is due to the overlap I dialed in?

punkrokdood
01-07-2019, 11:27 AM
yes... cams in general can make it harder to start your car. it is theoretically possible to make a cam so big that your car won't even start... but no respectable manufacturer will do that. :lol:

i wish i could tell you more, but that's all i remember off the top of my head. i'm not a cam expert, but i have read on them. if i remember more, i'll let you know

poorwboy
01-07-2019, 02:59 PM
What is the lift and duration on those cams compared to stock.

phillysrt4
01-08-2019, 10:28 PM
http://www.cranecams.com/index.php?show=browseParts&lvl=4&prt=2050

stock specs are there including 10's-18's

poorwboy
01-08-2019, 10:39 PM
http://www.cranecams.com/index.php?show=browseParts&lvl=4&prt=2050

stock specs are there including 10's-18's
There is alot of lift on those cams, which is typical. Boosted motors do not like duration, but want alot of lift. It must have something to do with lift which would make sense. What does the car do in the morning.

slow4dr
01-09-2019, 10:59 AM
Am I the only who thinks those cams aren't for the SRT4? All the descriptions are N/A based.

"header w/low restriction exhaust, ported intake w/low restriction air intake system"

"High compression pistons, race header w/equal length long primary tubes"

"Use low restriction intake exhaust. Good power on or off bottle"

"Use low restriction intake/exhaust and aftermarket ECM for max performance. Works well with stock engine/compression"

"Strong upper mid to top end with turbo"

punkrokdood
01-09-2019, 11:03 AM